the BIG announcement

This year, I have already received the absolute BEST Christmas present ever. After getting the OK last night over cocktails with my agent and editor, I am thrilled to be finally able to share my news with everyone. And so, without further ado…

The Oathbreaker’s Shadow will be published by Random House Children’s Books UK in Spring 2013! 

This is basically my reaction:

(You know Random House, right? The fabulous people behind these books and many, many, many more:)

My absolutely brilliant editor is the lovely Lauren Buckland, who offered me a two-book deal and who has been really welcoming to me so far (see the aforementioned cocktails). And so many thanks have to go to my super-agent Juliet Mushens from PFD – she has kept me sane throughout this whole entire process! That’s a tough job, believe me.

But okay, okay, what’s the book about?  This was my query pitch to Juliet:

For fifteen years Raim has worn a single blue string tied with a small knot around his wrist. Raim barely thinks about it at all; not since becoming the most promising young archer ever to train for the elite Yun guard and not since his best friend (and the future Khan) Khareh asked him to become his sole Protector. But on the most important day of his life, when he binds his life to Khareh’s, suddenly that string on his wrist is all he can think about – it bursts into flames and sears a blood-red mark into his skin. The knot contained a promise of its own – and now that promise is broken.

Scarred now as an oath-breaker, Raim has two options: run, or be killed.

Raim flees deep into the vast desert to live in Lazar: the colony of exiled oath-breakers. It is there he hopes to learn how to clear his name and return home to keep his promise to Khareh. Except in Lazar, he discovers that his scar from the burnt thread marks the first step on the path to becoming a sage, with the ability to perform feats of magic straight out of legend. The trade-off: he will remain tarnished as an oath-breaker for the rest of his life. Can he forgo his honour for immense power? And even if he did want to clear his name, how can he keep a promise he never even knew he made in the first place?

I’m excited, thrilled, and bewildered beyond belief. All I can say now is — here’s to 2013!

6 thoughts on “the BIG announcement

Leave a Reply

