The Luckiest blog on the Internet

Thank you so much everyone for your support yesterday — it was really overwhelming and emotional.

I just had to pop over to Verla Kay’s Blue Boards to share my news as well… I’ve been a long-time lurker on those boards, and they helped me with my query way back in 2009 (and that wasn’t even the first time I queried this book – but more on that later).

I also took time yesterday to join The Lucky 13s – a blog dedicated to debut YA authors launching in 2013.

You can see my introduction post here. My favourite superstition was to do with the A.A. Milne poem ‘Lines and Squares’ – have you read it? That poetry collection, When We Were Very Young, is one of my absolute favourites.

Putting on my editor hat for a second, I’m super excited that two of my fellow Lucky 13ers are actually two of my authors! At Voyager we don’t buy a lot of YA fiction (our notable published exception being the exceptional Wither by Lauren DeStefano) but if there’s a certain submission that comes in that we know will have crossover appeal to our adult audience, we’re keen to snap it up! That’s part of my brief as a commissioning editor to look at that part of the market, which works for me as it’s my favourite.  

Now for a weekend of celebrations! What with the HC Christmas party tonight and the SF/F Editors of London lunch & drinks tomorrow (which is always, as you can imagine, raucous), it’s going to be a busy next few days…

Leave a Reply

