Welcome, 2012!

The beginning of the year is the time for resolutions — but the end of 2011 threw everything I thought I knew about my life into flux and brought a whole lot of new challenges to the table. In fact, rather than having to think too hard about what my new year’s resolutions are going to be, they seem to have been set for me.

Happy New Year from London!

Resolution #1: Be more tidy
Oh yes — tidiness! Not really my strong point. However, I’m going to have to make the kind of concerted effort requisite to a NYR as the Loft and I will be moving in together in Feb (it all feels very Grown Up). If I am not more tidy, we may find ourselves buried under the mountain of stuff (okay: books, paper, teacups, sweaters) that I have a habit of leaving all over the place until I block all the exits and we’ll have to dig our way out with used teaspoons. Or until the dust mites stage a revolution.

Resolution #2: Run. A lot.
Well, I don’t really have much of a choice on this one either, as I’m due to run in the Edinburgh Marathon on 27 May 2012. Yikes! I have been training already but in December it kind of went down the drain. Back on the training wagon for me.

Resolution #3: Take more photos
If all goes to plan, I’m going to be visiting some pretty awesome places in 2012 (that would be that travel bug I’m always on about!), including Sauze d’Oulx, Italy for some skiing in Feb, possibly Egypt/Jordan in March and a Canada roadtrip in June. For that, I believe photos will be in order! But I don’t want to document just the big stuff, but more of the everyday too… I realize I could probably make a start on this by taking a photo for the blog today but I’m not that organized! (Hmm, is that another resolution needed?)

So those are my major three! I don’t think I can really count ‘write more’ as a resolution – that’s a job now! As is, of course, ‘read more’!

What are your New Year’s Resolutions?

P.S. Did I mention that my book comes out next year? Wow – that feels INSANE to say!

Leave a Reply

