Thoughts on preparation

“My two fingers on a typewriter have never connected with my brain. My hand on a pen does. A fountain pen, of course. Ball-point pens are only good for filling out forms on a plane.” – Graham Greene

The past week has been focused on preparation. I’ve been preparing a proper writing space – which in the past has been confined to sofa, or the corner table next to the plug point at Starbucks. I still expect that I will do most of my writing at either one of those two places, but now that I am a writer-under-contract I feel I really need a dedicated place to keep all writing-related bits and bobs!

A while ago I bought a desk from Ikea, built it, but never got around to actually setting it up. So recently I’ve stocked up on fountain pens & cartridges (see why the Graham Greene quote above appealed to me so much!), cue cards (random, I know – but I like to use them to keep track of my plot and they’re easy to move around, which I think will be especially important in the writing of Book 2) and quite a few empty notepads. For Christmas my best friend bought me a very apt notebook, which is now the home of the first few words of Book 2:

As a little inspiration, I’ve also hung my beautiful Chinese calligraphy pen that my parents bought me from Hong Kong on the wall above. At the moment the desk is lovely and neat and clean, but I’m sure that in a few months it won’t look anything like that!

What does your writing space look like? Do you have somewhere special, or do you spread out throughout your home?

Leave a Reply

