Giveaway! Wither & Fever by Lauren DeStefano

To celebrate the launch of my Facebook author page, and also because I’m agonisingly close to that 400 follower mark on Twitter, I’ve decided to host my first ever blog giveaway! It will be the first, I’m sure, of many to come.

It also happens to be the launch week of Fever by Lauren DeStefano here in the UK, so I’m giving away a copy to a lucky blog reader! Alongside will be the new UK pb of Witherthe first book in Lauren’s amazing The Chemical Garden trilogy.

Since I clearly have a vested interest in these amazing novels, I won’t be reviewing them. However, with each book I give away I’m going to write a little something about what that book means to me – either how I came upon it, or a story around its publication.

A story of Wither

On my first day as assistant editor for Voyager, I was handed a stack of manuscripts to read to get me up to speed with the list. Overwhelmed by this treasure trove of fiction, I scanned the first few pages of each to choose which one to start with. When I came to Wither (which was then just a lot of sheets of A4 held together with an elastic band and went by another title), I knew I had to read the whole thing then and there. Can I just tell you that if you are an aspiring author wanting to know how to write a first chapter that grabs – no, demands – an editor’s (or a reader’s) attention, then you can do no better than the opening of Wither. Lauren’s prose is absolutely stunning, and the opening ends with a real bang! The rest of the book doesn’t disappoint, and it remains one of the most outstanding examples of dystopian YA literature that I’ve read to date.

To enter, simply ‘like’ me on Facebook by clicking the like button on the left-hand side of the page, or by visiting the page and clicking ‘like’:

Amy McCulloch on Facebook

Or add me on twitter:

@amymcculloch

And you’re entered! If you’re already my friend on FB or Twitter and still want to be in to win, just RT or leave a comment to this blog post. The contest is open internationally and will end at midnight GMT on February 24, 2012.

Good luck!

6 thoughts on “Giveaway! Wither & Fever by Lauren DeStefano

  1. Sandy Goodson says:

    Hi Amy. I’ve just popped over from ‘Liking’ you on FB. I would like to enter on behalf of my daughter who tells me she would love to read these and i am all for that!. Thank-you.

Leave a Reply

