Eastercon & Press release for The Oathbreaker’s Shadow by RHCB

Today I’m at Olympus 2012 (Eastercon), my first ever SF convention. Very exciting! If you spot me (I’ll be carrying the HarperVoyager bag), please don’t be shy and say hello! My first panel is on Sunday, but more on that later…

Onto more book-related news… ok, so I feel like I’m blogging this a little late to my own party, but I couldn’t let it go by without a post!

While I was galavanting around the Middle East, my press release went live in The Bookseller (the UK’s book publishing trade magazine). This definitely feels like a bit of a milestone moment for me, as it all starts to feel a bit real now the first bit of PR is out.

They cut out a few bits of the full RHCB press release, so I’ve included the unabridged version here:

RHCB acquires exciting action-adventure fantasy for 2013

For Immediate Release:  

Random House Children’s Books is delighted to announce that they have acquired THE OATHBREAKER’S SHADOW, plus a sequel, by young British-based debut novelist Amy McCulloch. Lauren Buckland, Fiction Commissioning Editor has bought UK and Commonwealth rights for the two books from Juliet Mushens at PFD.

Fans of Philip Pullman, Jonathan Stroud, Garth Nix and George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones are going to love this action-adventure fantasy, set in a world where you tie a knot for every promise that you make. Break that promise and you are scarred for life, and cast out into a desert.

Lauren says; “The Oathbreaker’s Shadow is one the most accomplished debut novels I have ever read, testament to Amy’s love for the fantasy genre and total understanding of what makes a cracking, compelling read. She is an absolute delight and I can’t wait to work with her.”

Juliet says; “Amy McCulloch has created a gripping fantasy epic – I defy readers not to be swept away by Raim’s story.”

Amy McCulloch is Commissioning Editor at Voyager, HarperCollins UK’s fantasy/sci-fi imprint.

Random House Children’s Books are planning to publish as a trade paperback in Spring 2013.


Advertisements

One thought on “Eastercon & Press release for The Oathbreaker’s Shadow by RHCB

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s