Earth Girl and other links from around the blogosphere

I’m deep in the revisions cave at the moment (I’m aiming to have my edit back to my editor by the end of the month, but the end of the month is approaching far too rapidly for my liking!), so blogging has fallen a little bit off the radar. Yet I wanted to take to the blog to congratulate Liz de Jager, who has just become Juliet Mushens’ latest client! She’s done a great in-depth interview with Juliet on her blog, which offers some good insight into agenting life. Check out her blog here: http://www.lizdejager.co.uk/2012/08/interview-with-juliet-mushens/

Also, I forgot to mention that I was on The Lucky 13s blog the other day, chatting about publishing misconceptions.

And finally, yesterday was the publication date for Janet Edwards’ Earth Girl, which is a fantastic YA science fiction debut from a British author. I vividly remember the day when Earth Girl came in on submission, and I knew it was something special when I finished the manuscript (later on that same day) with a huge smile on my face. In fact, I loved it so much I even tweeted about it on the HarperVoyager twitter, which I was running at the time.

 

I can’t tell you what a pleasure it is to read YA fiction that is smart, funny and refreshingly original. Don’t look to Earth Girl to find a heroine pining wistfully after a crush, but do pick it up if you want to see a flawed, feisty heroine overcoming huge obstacles to achieve her dreams – oh yes, and maybe finding some romance along the way! Although for once it is with an actually swoon-worthy guy who stands side-by-side with our heroine, not up on a pedestal.

On that note, I’m interviewing Janet Edwards on The Lucky 13s blog, so head over there to find out a bit more about the book and the author!

Leave a Reply

