3…2…1… Liftoff! The Oathbreaker’s Shadow is launched in the UK!

Well, this is going to be a VERY long and photo-filled post! That’s because I had the most incredible time launching The Oathbreaker’s Shadow at the stunning Daunt Books Marylebone last night. Thank you so much to everyone who came out!

That’s right, my book is now officially OUT in the UK. I can hardly believe it! (Obligatory buy links to hardcover and kindle editions here!)

My day started with the making of a zillion cupcake decorations! They turned out well (if I do say so myself – I might do a little ‘how to’ later), even if they did start lifting once they entered the sun-filled room at Daunts. I’m not quitting my day job (or my after day job) to become a baker just yet. The actual cupcakes came from the supremely talented Emma Louise of Sweet Little Cakery. Her blog about it is here and her website is here.

They turned out beautifully!

Homemade book cupcake decorations

Homemade book cupcake decorations

Life of a debut author, hey? Never thought I’d be doing that on my launch day, but it was actually so much fun. My mum and sister then helped me lug over 150 cupcakes to the beautiful Daunt books.

If you haven’t had a chance to visit Daunt Books Marylebone, and you’re a book lover in London (or visiting London) then you must! It is so so stunning, even if I do say so myself. And even better when you see this in the window!

An Oathbreaker-filled window!

An Oathbreaker-filled window!

The wine showed up, and cupcakes were on display, and the launch kicked off!

Cupcakes on display

Cupcakes on display

I then spent most of my time dashing around the room, trying to make sure I signed for everyone! So many people from different parts of my life came together, which was wonderful to see. Special shout-out to my mum who came all the way from Canada to celebrate with me, and I was very sorry that Dad couldn’t be there too – he was definitely missed a lot.

signing2

Check out my snazzy silver pen!

About an hour into the launch, Juliet braved the balcony with me, in true Evita-style, to make a lovely speech. I then got to say a few words of thanks to everyone, which was really nice. As I said in my speech, I could never have imagined so long ago, when I first entertained dreams of becoming a writer, that my first book launch would be anything like this. I was completely overwhelmed. And because I work in publishing, a book can sometimes be reduced to the sum of its parts: the manuscript, the cover, the AIS, the metadata, the reviews… the product, in essence. But this whole process has reminded me of something so important: that behind every published book is a writer for whom this is a dream come true. That is certainly the case for me.

Giving my speech from the balcony... not for the faint hearted!

Giving my speech from the balcony… not for the faint hearted!

crowd

With speeches over… I could finally relax! And meet and chat with people… which is what I had wanted to do for most of the evening. One of the best pictures of the night were the four young ones who attended the launch, all sitting up on the balcony, intensely reading. Couldn’t ask for anything more as an author!

readers

 

And I also asked all my guests to sign a book for me! This ended up being one of my favourite mementos of the night – I strongly recommend it to other authors!

A book signed by the launch guests, just for me!

A book signed by the launch guests, just for me!

Then, as the bookstore closed up, we moved down to The Marylebone pub, where there was some much needed food and happy hour!

Editor, Publicist, Agent and Author - Team Oathbreaker!

Editor, Publicist, Agent and Author – Team Oathbreaker!

It was finally when we got to the pub that we managed to get a Team Oathbreaker picture! Woohoo. I’m so grateful for all the hard work these ladies have put in so far. I definitely have the best team in publishing!!

My launch was, in a nutshell, awesome. I can’t have imagined it going any better, and I’m still a bit shellshocked that so many people came out to celebrate me and Raim. It was his night too, after all!

So the book is out, the wine has all been drunk, the champagne popped and the cupcakes demolished. What now? If anyone has read and enjoyed The Oathbreaker’s Shadow, please leave a review over on Amazon or Goodreads – it would be so helpful for all those fancy Amazon algorithms and such. Plus, it would just make me happy 🙂

Or, just take a look at a few more pictures! Most of these on this page were taken by my wonderful friend Sarah, and a few from my mum, Bella and Juliet too! I was far too frantic to take pictures.

5 thoughts on “3…2…1… Liftoff! The Oathbreaker’s Shadow is launched in the UK!

  1. Tammy Sparks says:

    Congrats Amy! I’m very jealous, being way over here in the US with no OATHBREAKER’S SHADOW yet!! Your cupcakes look delish, and it looks like your party was a success:)

  2. Laura Lam says:

    So wonderful! I really wish I could have been there, but the photos make me feel as if I almost was! Daunt Books looks lovely, so I’ll have to have a wander there the next time I’m in London.

    Congratulations on being OFFICIALLY LAUNCHED!! ❤

Leave a Reply

