2013 in 13 pictures

2013 has been a bumper year, without a doubt. Despite all the words I’ve written this year (and there have been many!) I can’t seem to find a way to summarize the year with them… and so, here’s my 2013, in 13 pictures.
reactions
This moment. The first time holding the hardcover of my first published book. That, I will never forget. Finding out at the very end of this year that I will be bringing the book to the US with Flux is just the perfect round-off.

amyegypt
Travelling to beautiful Sharm el Sheikh for much needed birthday fun and relaxation!

pullman
This was the year I met so many  of my literary heroes, including Philip Pullman, Robin Hobb, Patrick Rothfuss, Tad Williams and Raymond Feist.

This is what 400 students look like!

This is what 400 students look like!

In 2013, I did my first proper book-related event, for the Hay Scribblers in front of 400 students at Cardiff University. That kicked off the first of many – including the Random House UK bloggers brunch, a Random House Canada blogger meet-up, speaking in front of my alma mater Immaculata and reading at WFC.

Wedding (125)
It was the year of weddings, which were all so different – and yet all filled with so much love. Especially special was getting to be maid of honour to my gorgeous best friend Sarah (above) and bridesmaid to the stunning Natasha – it was an honour. This also meant that I both attended and planned my first ever hen parties! Now those were a blast.

nyc
I visited New York City on business but still found time to ‘say yes to the dress’.

IMG_1674

In June, I came home to Canada, not just to launch the book but also to visit some of my Canadian loves. Watching my main man growing up from afar has been a pleasure, but none pleasure so great as being able to give him (and his parents) a cuddle.

IMG_1271
I left HarperVoyager – what an incredible experience working there has been! I’m going to miss all my colleagues and friends and authors there so much, but I’m so excited for my new challenge.

part 2
In August, I finished the first draft of The Shadow’s Curse and sent it off to be edited! Bringing the sequel to readers in 2014 is something I just cannot wait for.

20131126-060819.jpg
The best place I visited in 2013 has to be Myanmar – one of the most beautiful places on this earth – and sharing that experience with the greatest of friends. Can’t wait to be Tania’s maid of honour next year!

An Oathbreaker-filled window!

An Oathbreaker-filled window!

I launched The Oathbreaker’s Shadow in the UK and Canada. Yeah, that was pretty big. I cannot thank everyone who came out to both the launch parties enough – you made this entire experience more wonderful than I could have ever imagined. Since the launch, it’s been amazing and terrifying to see the reaction to the book – some reactions so brilliant they’ve blown me away, some so vitriolic they’ve brought me to tears – but all experiences (both good and bad) have made me love this process more.

HP world
The saddest event of my year… saying goodbye to my wonderful and talented sister Sophie as she moved across the world to Sydney, Australia. Thank you for sharing some HP magic with me before you left!

IMG_1989 - Version 2
On 13 September 2013, I became engaged to the love of my life! Wedding planning has rather dominated the latter quarter of the year and I can’t wait for the best day of my life next year. It’s going to have to be pretty great to beat all these moments, and yet somehow I have no doubt it will succeed.

Happy New Year everyone… and may 2014 be full of love, happiness and success.

One thought on “2013 in 13 pictures

Leave a Reply

