Gong Hei Fat Choi! and my first recipe

china

The McCullochs take Beijing

Happy Chinese New Year everyone! Happy Year of the Horse (my dad’s year) and what a very special one it will be indeed.

It’s been almost four years since my trip to China with my family. It still remains one of the best trips I’ve ever done – not least because I was able to visit Shanghai (where my grandparents were from). What an amazing city – I’d love to go back there one day.

Shanghai sunset

Shanghai sunset

In honour of Chinese New Year, I made spring rolls and steamed some char sui pork buns (pork buns not from scratch, mind!). I thought I’d share the spring roll recipe for anyone wanting to make their own… it’s very easy and I thoroughly recommend giving it a go yourself! That way you can stuff them with as much delicious filling as you want (clearly the way forward). This is my first stab at a recipe posting, so any comments/tips would be greatly appreciated. My food photography also greatly needs work – probably need to move on from the iPhone – but I can promise that the finished product gets a big thumbs up 🙂

Homemade spring rolls and not-so-homemade char sui boa for Chinese New Year!

Homemade spring rolls and not-so-homemade char sui boa for Chinese New Year!

Recipe after the jump…

Delicious homemade pork spring rolls

Ingredients

1 pack of spring roll sheets (I buy mine from the local Korean supermarket – they freeze well)
Pork fillet 250 gm
Chinese leaves 300gm or bean sprouts (My preference is both! Chinese cabbage/napa and bean sprouts for added crunch) 
1/4 lb mushrooms (I like using the chestnut kind, but any will do)

Seasonings

  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp rice wine
  • 2 tsp light soy sauce
  • 1 tsp cornflour
  • Vegetable oil
Lotsa greenery and mushrooms

Lotsa greenery and mushrooms

Method

  • cut meat into slices and marinate with some salt, sugar, wine, soy sauce and cornflour for 1/2 hour
  • Cut vegetables the same size as meat
  • Heat pan with 2 tbsp oil, stir fry meat until cooked and set aside
  • Heat pan with 2 tbsp oil, stir fry vegetables with salt and add meat, mix well and thicken with cornflour
  • Lay a single sheet on the table, put some mix on to the sheet near one corner, then wrap it as a roll
  • Heat pan with plenty of oil and shallow fry spring rolls until brown
  • Makes approximately 12 spring rolls (probably more if you were more stingy with filling)
Pre-cooking, all nice and folded

Pre-cooking, all nice and folded

Leave a Reply

