An interview with Emma Pass of THE FEARLESS fame!

So life’s best laid plans have definitely been going astray recently! I had a whole blog calendar plotted out to update you all with various THE KNOTS DUOLOGY-related things, but they’ve fallen by the wayside. While we were on holiday in beautiful Cornwall, my fiance managed to break his ankle in three places – which has rather thrown a wrench in a few of our summer plans!
It also meant my blogging calendar went out the window, including an interview I was supposed to post with the incredible Emma Pass. Better late than never, hopefully! If you haven’t heard of Emma Pass before now, where have you been?! Her debut novel, ACID, was one of my most thrilling reads of last year, and THE FEARLESS does not disappoint. It’s not a sequel to ACID, but another standalone, and proves that Emma is the absolute master of this genre.
Hi Emma! I can’t believe THE FEARLESS is here! It seems only yesterday that ACID was published. Can you tell me a little bit about the book?
THE FEARLESS is set in the near future, imagining what would happen if our troops fighting overseas were given a serum to stop them suffering Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Unfortunately the serum falls into the wrong hands and is used to create a drug which stops people feeling any fear whatsoever, strips them of their capacity for empathy and love, and makes them stronger and faster than ordinary human beings. These ‘Fearless’ invade every country in the world, trying to make everyone just like them. The main character, Cass, is 10 when they arrive in the UK and loses her family, her home and her childhood. Seven years later, all she has left is her little brother, and when he’s kidnapped by a Fearless she must go after him, no matter what the dangers are…
‘Second Book Syndrome’ is something writers often talk about. Did you experience jitters when it came to publishing your second book?
I certainly did! I’ve never written a book to deadline before and I was terrified I wouldn’t be able to pull it off (ironic for a book about people who can’t feel fear!). I was also scared that, after ACID, people would think the next book was a big disappointment… but it’s already had some lovely reviews, so hopefully not!
You seem to have a natural flair for writing kick-ass female main characters. Where do you get the inspiration for these girls from?
I come from a family of very strong, independent women who are a big inspiration to me both in my writing and real life. I also write the sort of characters I want to see more of in YA literature – and in literature in general. There’s nothing more annoying than a female character who waits around for the boy to rescue her. What sort of message does that give readers, especially young readers? Girls can be just as strong and fast and brave as boys, and I hope my books reflect that.
Can you tell me a little about your experience as a debut author?
I’ve really enjoyed it! Being published is quite literally a dream come true for me and it’s been so great to get to know other authors and readers, and work with my fantastic editors, and see an actual book out there with my name on it… two books now! I think it’s really important to build a support network of other writers and I’ve been very lucky to be able to do that.
If you could sum up THE FEARLESS in Five words, what would they be?
Dark, terrifying, action packed, exciting!
Thanks Emma! 
Leave a Reply

