A new book, a new name, a new deal… it’s all change around here

mini shop3

Any regular readers to the blog might notice that a few things have changed around here! For one, I got married (whoop! – and bigger post to come on that, I promise!) and I decided to take my husband’s name. I’m now Amy Alward, in most things – the big exception being for THE OATHBREAKER’S SHADOW, which of course is coming out in the USA in February 2015 from Flux books! So there will be plenty of McCulloch-ing still to come.

But that’s not the ONLY change. I’m so unbelievably pleased and excited to say that I have a new book deal for three books, starting with THE POTION DIARIES, which will be coming out from Simon & Schuster Children’s in Summer 2015. Rights have sold in the UK & Commonwealth, USA, Canada, Germany and Brazil – all of which is incredibly surreal.

These books represent a bit of a departure for me. Not only will they be published under ‘Amy Alward’, but they are very different in style and tone to The Oathbreaker’s Shadow and The Shadow’s Curse. Just another reason why I felt a name change might be appropriate. In fact, I might still write under Amy McCulloch again, especially if I return to pure epic fantasy.

mini shop1

Everything about this book deal feels different. I’m no longer a debut novelist – if anything, I felt the pressure even more this time around. When you are debut, you have never tested the waters – every step in the process is new and exciting. This time around, I came into the process with a more experienced head on my shoulders, but if I thought that would lessen the nerves, I was sorely disappointed.

Some writers at this stage in their career sell on a synopsis or a partial – it’s hard to find the time to write a whole new book, especially when you’re under contract for existing ones. But for me, I always knew I was going to finish this book before showing it to Juliet or anyone else. Part of the reason is because the idea has been kicking around for so long that I wanted to make sure it stood on its own feet. The idea for The Potion Diaries actually came from a tweet, proving that sometimes good things do come from being distracted on social media! And I mention The Potion Diaries (which at that time was called Philtre – the old English word for ‘love potion’) in my initial query to Juliet way back in 2010.  Juliet and I are going to do a ‘dissecting the query’ post sometime in the near future, so look out for that!

But the other reason is because this was something so completely different to what I was already writing. I wanted to challenge myself as a writer; to stretch my skills and experiment with a different voice. Writing in the first person was difficult, and I struggled with finding the right tone for my protagonist. But once I did, it ended up being the most fun I’ve ever had writing a book. The words flowed, and I think it shows on the page.

mini shop2

All this is to say that when I finally finished The Potion Diaries, I wasn’t sure what to do with it. I loved it, but it was so very different. Would it be considered ‘off brand’? But a very wise author once told me never to let yourself be typecast, and so I sent it off to Juliet anyway, who read the initial draft with a huge amount of enthusiasm. I think she was surprised by how different it was but – because she is a superstar – she took it in her stride and immediately saw the potential. She gave me very detailed edit notes and I set to work. When I sent back the revised draft, Juliet had her assistant, the wonderful Sarah, read alongside her. The verdict was more than I could hope for – they both absolutely loved the revision, and it was time to send it out into the world.

Like I said, if I thought the experience of being out on submission would be any easier the second time around, I was wrong. It was as agonising and nerve-wracking as being a debut. But I got lucky, and the book found a home with a team who love it even more than I could have hoped for. They completely understand the book and my characters, their passion and creativity just blew me away, and I am so excited to work with them on this publication.

mini sho[

So what’s The Potion Diaries about? The pictures I’ve been sharing are from a mini potions shop that my parents bought me as a publication present, and it is oh so appropriate! It’s about a Princess (more Kate Middleton than Rapunzel) who gets poisoned by a faulty love potion. It’s about an apprentice alchemist who dreams of researching and mixing new cures for a big corporate potions company (think a magical GlaxoSmithKline) but instead is tied down by loyalty to her family’s apothecary. It’s about mermaids and unicorns and abominable snowmen. But mostly it’s about a girl struggling to forge her own path in a world that seems to have it already laid out for her.

Also – and I think this is important – although this is part of a planned three-book series featuring the same characters and world, The Potion Diaries stands on its own. And I can’t wait for you all to read it.

Here’s the official press release!

Amy Alward moves to S&S with ‘Happy Hunger Games’ series

 18th September 2014, London – Simon and Schuster Children’s Books today announced the acquisition of The Potion Diaries by Amy Alward, who also writes under her maiden name, Amy McCulloch.

Elv Moody, Fiction Editorial Director and Jane Griffiths, Commissioning Editor at S&S Children’s UK, acquired World English rights from Juliet Mushens at The Agency Group in a six figure pre-emptive deal. Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers will be publishing The Potion Diaries in the US and Canada. Rights have also sold in Germany and Brazil so far, with interest around the world.

The Potion Diaries follows the adventures of Samantha Kemi who harbours a secret dream of going to university to study potions, and then becoming a mixer for a major alchemy corporation. She’s ordinary – she has absolutely no magical talent – but her instinct for putting together a potion is second to none.

When the city’s princess is poisoned by a faulty love potion, representatives from prominent alchemists, including Sam, are tasked with finding a cure. There’s one main condition: the potion must be made entirely without synthetic material. This is the chance of a lifetime, and Sam is sent across the globe in the hunt for the freshest ingredients, including pearl from a mermaid, hair from an abominable and a unicorn tail. But it seems that someone is determined to make sure the Kemi family don’t complete the hunt, and soon Sam discovers that the stakes are higher than she ever thought possible.

Moody says, ‘It’s been a long time since we’ve seen anything that feels as fresh as this. With pulse-pounding thrills, a contest to save a princess (who is much more Kate Middleton than Rapunzel) takes place in a whirlwind of paparazzi and social media – with just a touch of perfect romantic chemistry.’

Alward adds, ‘The Potion Diaries has possessed its own special alchemy right from the start: the spark of the idea came from a chance tweet, which was then blended with many months spent writing in the darkest hours of the night, and now, with the discovery of the perfect publishing partner in Simon & Schuster, it is ready to be bottled and served. From the moment we received their stunning pitch, I knew they would be the right home for The Potion Diaries, and I couldn’t be happier to be working with S&S.’

The Potion Diaries will be published by Simon and Schuster in Summer 2015 as a paperback original.

Amy Alward is a 28-year-old Canadian author living in London where she now fits writing around her work as Editorial Director at Puffin. In 2013, she was listed as one of The Bookseller’s Rising Stars. Her debut fantasy adventure novel, The Oathbreaker’s Shadow, was published in 2013 under the name Amy McCulloch and was longlisted for the Branford Boase Award for best UK debut children’s book in 2014. Amy is passionate about reaching out to her loyal fanbase and is keen to recruit new fans through The Potion Diaries.

minishop4

3 thoughts on “A new book, a new name, a new deal… it’s all change around here

Leave a Reply

