Our most magical day…

Time seems to be disappearing before my very eyes. I can’t believe that Christmas is around the corner, a new year beckons and my blog lies abandoned. But what better point to bring it back than to talk about one of the most magical days of my life?

That it took me over three months since the wedding to write this post feels crazy. And yet, and yet – there was a honeymoon leg injury to recover from (a post for another time), The Potion Diaries to edit edit edit, the busiest period of my day job and we moved out of our flat in Battersea to a house in Winchester! Plus, a trip to Granada and Eurodisney… there has been no resting on any laurels around here!

Okay, there’s another motive, too. Early on in our wedding planning process, my sister’s wonderful boyfriend, Evan George, offered to be our videographer on our big day. Having seen some of the amazing videos he’s produced, we jumped all over that offer!! He’d never done a wedding video before, but that didn’t faze us (or, clearly, him). And the results have just come in and they’re… well, I’ll let you see for yourself but for me, he captured every single emotion of the day. It’s pretty special. It was just the reminder I needed to share my thoughts about the day on the blog.

Alward-veil

We also had the lovely Melanie Woodward of One Life Studio as our official wedding photographer. She’s seen us through thick and thin, good and bad – quite literally, as she had to photograph our engagement photos while Lofty had his broken ankle in a cast! I thoroughly recommend her to anyone out there looking for a wedding photographer. All the photos in this post were taken by her. You can imagine it was pretty difficult to pick ones to use!

Alward-greathall

We tried not to come into the wedding process with too many preconceptions. We knew we wanted it to be a big day, a chance to bring our friends and family together from across the world to celebrate with us. More than anything, we really wanted the day to be a reflection of us. And it ended up being so much better than we could have imagined. It started with the venue. As soon as we heard that we could have our wedding breakfast/reception at the Great Hall in Winchester – a place we visited together very early on in our relationship and many times since – we were sold. It brought together my love (bordering on obsession) for all things medieval, with a city Lofty had worked in ever since we met. It gave us somewhere special to show our guests who were coming from Canada and beyond. And it had King Arthur’s round table. What more could you ask for?

Alward-makeup

Alward-thegirls
Alward-theboys

As a result, when the day came, I felt incredibly relaxed. This was definitely aided by having my lovely bridesmaids around me, my mum and dad, and my amazing hair and make-up artist Annabel Hornsby! (Seriously, if you’re looking for a MUA, you can’t go wrong with Annabel). I also luckily still loved my dress, which was the very first thing I bought for the wedding! It was by Essense of Australia, and I had found it in NYC, tried it on in Wimbledon and bought it in Ottawa so it was a kind of global purchase. It was everything I had always wanted in a wedding dress – romantic, fitted, structured, with a lovely lace bolero that gave me the option of sleeves, which I could remove in the evening. The veil and headpiece were gifts from my mum, and came from the treasure trove that is the Gillion Million store in Teddington. (I recommend every bride to go there, just to feel beautiful). The bridesmaids dresses were Vera Wang White collection from David’s Bridal.

Alward-davidAlward-amy

Alward-thechurch
Alward-stpeters

Our ceremony, at the beautiful St Peter’s RC Church in Winchester, was so much fun – and I really have to thank Deacon Gerard for making the ceremony so personal and memorable. It was filled with laughter – much like the rest of our day (as I’m sure you can tell by the photographs!). I don’t think the grin slipped from my face for a moment. Our flowers were by Jane Reidy, and I loved my bouquet so much I had it preserved! After the ceremony, we walked up to the Great Hall through the cobbled streets of Winchester. Saving on transport made for some really great memories – it was like having our own parade through the city.

Alward-winchester

Alward-groupshot

Alward-croquembouche

Alward-croquembouche2

The Great Hall was perfect, and all credit to the amazing Winchester Council catering team as the food was amazing! I also still dream about our wedding cake, which we cut with a replica of Jon Snow’s sword from GAME OF THRONES (natch). The delicious croquembouche and wedding cake was by the amazing Le Papillion Patisserie in Woking, whom we met at the National Wedding Fair in Earl’s Court. After we went for a tasting there, we gorged ourselves on cake all the way home – it definitely confirmed we made the right choice!

Alward-dancing

We danced our first dance to ‘One Day’ by Kiwi band OpShop, a reminder of just how far we’ve come in the six years since we met in a hostel kitchen in Christchurch, New Zealand. It was the perfect end to a perfect day.

And now, for the main event, our wedding video by Evan George…

The Wedding of Amy and David from Evan George on Vimeo.

(I recommend watching it in full screen and with the ‘hd’ button on, but there you go!) It includes footage from a DSLR camera, a go pro in my sister’s bouquet and a drone!!

I can’t thank him enough for capturing it so beautifully! ❤

3 thoughts on “Our most magical day…

  1. amanda says:

    What a beautiful wedding both of you Amy and David georgeous couple.
    It was sentimental, wonderful, emotional very romantic.
    I love the first dance both of you Amy and David so much in love always keep it that way so lovely your magical day to always remember for the rest of your lives.
    Congratulations
    thank you for sharing this amazing video. what a wonderful christmas present.

    Love Amanda Swan
    . England

Leave a Reply

