The Oathbreaker’s Shadow sells Canadian rights

Well, the first set of foreign rights to sell aren’t so foreign after all… I’m so pleased to say that Canadian rights to The Oathbreaker’s Shadow have sold to Amy Black at Doubleday Canada – which means that my mum and dad will definitely be able to go into their local Chapters on Rideau Street in Ottawa and find the book, and that is what means the most to me 🙂 I had the privilege of meeting Kristin Cochcrane (the Doubleday Canada publisher) and Brad Martin (President & CEO of Doubleday CA) a couple of weeks back at drinks to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the imprint, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such an amazing team. Coincidentally, they are also the publisher’s of my boss Jane Johnson’s books, (The Sultan’s Wife being her latest) and she has nothing but rave reviews for their publishing. I can’t wait to work with them!

This news came on top of a fantastic Oathbreaker-themed day. I managed to use the morning to write a thousand words of the sequel, and then I headed off to Ealing to meet my editor Lauren, the RHCP editorial assistant Pete (who is also going to help on the edit), and my publicist Emily for a lovely long lunch. It was great to catch up and talk bookish things (like covers! edits! videos!), genre things (conventions! Game of Thrones!) and all sorts of stuff that had absolutely nothing to do with books or publishing. I found out that my ‘Spring 2013’ pub date can be narrowed down to either April/May of next year, so potentially I am now less than a year away from officially seeing Oathbreaker in print, which is amazing.

After Ealing I headed back into town to meet with my agent Juliet, for a quick coffee and to sign my Canadian contracts… which meant that I could officially announce the deal. Woohoo!

Advertisements

Eastercon blog on RHCP website

Today I’m guest-blogging over at the RHCP website ‘Talk about Random‘. Head over to their blog to find out about my panel at Eastercon (Olympus 2012) this past weekend.

This weekend, while most people were tucking into Easter feasts and hunting for brightly-painted eggs, 1400 science fiction and fantasy fans descended on the Radisson Edwardian hotel near Heathrow Airport to attend Olympus 2012 (also known as Eastercon) – the UK’s annual SF convention.

Read more…

Eastercon & Press release for The Oathbreaker’s Shadow by RHCB

Today I’m at Olympus 2012 (Eastercon), my first ever SF convention. Very exciting! If you spot me (I’ll be carrying the HarperVoyager bag), please don’t be shy and say hello! My first panel is on Sunday, but more on that later…

Onto more book-related news… ok, so I feel like I’m blogging this a little late to my own party, but I couldn’t let it go by without a post!

While I was galavanting around the Middle East, my press release went live in The Bookseller (the UK’s book publishing trade magazine). This definitely feels like a bit of a milestone moment for me, as it all starts to feel a bit real now the first bit of PR is out.

They cut out a few bits of the full RHCB press release, so I’ve included the unabridged version here:

RHCB acquires exciting action-adventure fantasy for 2013

For Immediate Release:  

Random House Children’s Books is delighted to announce that they have acquired THE OATHBREAKER’S SHADOW, plus a sequel, by young British-based debut novelist Amy McCulloch. Lauren Buckland, Fiction Commissioning Editor has bought UK and Commonwealth rights for the two books from Juliet Mushens at PFD.

Fans of Philip Pullman, Jonathan Stroud, Garth Nix and George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones are going to love this action-adventure fantasy, set in a world where you tie a knot for every promise that you make. Break that promise and you are scarred for life, and cast out into a desert.

Lauren says; “The Oathbreaker’s Shadow is one the most accomplished debut novels I have ever read, testament to Amy’s love for the fantasy genre and total understanding of what makes a cracking, compelling read. She is an absolute delight and I can’t wait to work with her.”

Juliet says; “Amy McCulloch has created a gripping fantasy epic – I defy readers not to be swept away by Raim’s story.”

Amy McCulloch is Commissioning Editor at Voyager, HarperCollins UK’s fantasy/sci-fi imprint.

Random House Children’s Books are planning to publish as a trade paperback in Spring 2013.


the BIG announcement

This year, I have already received the absolute BEST Christmas present ever. After getting the OK last night over cocktails with my agent and editor, I am thrilled to be finally able to share my news with everyone. And so, without further ado…

The Oathbreaker’s Shadow will be published by Random House Children’s Books UK in Spring 2013! 

This is basically my reaction:

(You know Random House, right? The fabulous people behind these books and many, many, many more:)

My absolutely brilliant editor is the lovely Lauren Buckland, who offered me a two-book deal and who has been really welcoming to me so far (see the aforementioned cocktails). And so many thanks have to go to my super-agent Juliet Mushens from PFD – she has kept me sane throughout this whole entire process! That’s a tough job, believe me.

But okay, okay, what’s the book about?  This was my query pitch to Juliet:

For fifteen years Raim has worn a single blue string tied with a small knot around his wrist. Raim barely thinks about it at all; not since becoming the most promising young archer ever to train for the elite Yun guard and not since his best friend (and the future Khan) Khareh asked him to become his sole Protector. But on the most important day of his life, when he binds his life to Khareh’s, suddenly that string on his wrist is all he can think about – it bursts into flames and sears a blood-red mark into his skin. The knot contained a promise of its own – and now that promise is broken.

Scarred now as an oath-breaker, Raim has two options: run, or be killed.

Raim flees deep into the vast desert to live in Lazar: the colony of exiled oath-breakers. It is there he hopes to learn how to clear his name and return home to keep his promise to Khareh. Except in Lazar, he discovers that his scar from the burnt thread marks the first step on the path to becoming a sage, with the ability to perform feats of magic straight out of legend. The trade-off: he will remain tarnished as an oath-breaker for the rest of his life. Can he forgo his honour for immense power? And even if he did want to clear his name, how can he keep a promise he never even knew he made in the first place?

I’m excited, thrilled, and bewildered beyond belief. All I can say now is — here’s to 2013!